Munich Greeter

17 February 2015
by Andy
1 Comment

What is…? – Krapfen

During carnival (Fasching) time in Germany you’ll find a specific sweet pastry nearly everywhere. The “Krapfen”. Yeah… another hard-to-spell word. But the harder to spell the better what you get… well at least here. Read on to get to know … Continue reading

Brezen & Bier

11 January 2015
by Andy
0 comments

The Top 5 things to eat in Munich

Munich and Bavaria are known not only for the alps, the history or the Oktoberfest, but also for the food. So when in Munich you have to try at least 5 of them. Otherwise you can’t say you’ve been to … Continue reading

21 December 2014
by Andy
1 Comment

Munich specialities – fine spirits

If you come to Munich, you surely want to feel the tradition and of course taste the culinary delights of Bavaria. You know that Munich and Bavaria is famous for its beer and hearty food. But there is also a … Continue reading

Kugler Alm - Entrance/Eingang

16 August 2014
by Andy
0 comments

Day trip idea: Kugler Alm

From spring to autumn you definately want to enjoy one of Munich’s beergardens. And there are plenty of them in the city. But there are also some gems outside of the city where only a few tourists come. So why … Continue reading

8 August 2014
by Andy
3 Comments

myth white sausage

Nothing, well… nearly nothing is more traditional (from a culinary sight) as the Munich Weißwurst (white sausage) (spoken: wise-wuasht) . Many tourists try it, but they eat it the wrong way (which is quite funny for a citizen to see). … Continue reading

5 August 2014
by Andy
0 comments

The “muffin man” of Munich-Neuhausen

Maybe some of you remember our facebook blog post about a sign in front of a small Munich coffeehouse reading “The best cheesecake in town – The next one 6.493 km, Brooklyn, NY”. We got a lot of responses to … Continue reading

27 July 2014
by Andy
0 comments

American history in Munich (part 1)

Munich today is a very international city. But also in former times many people from different parts of the world lived here and influenced the culture and everday life. Also the USA had an influence on Munich – before and … Continue reading

16 June 2014
by Andy
0 comments

June – Strawberry season in Munich – pick your own strawberries

In June it can be warm and you may want to enjoy fresh regional products. In Munich, it is somehow tradition to eat strawberries during the summer months. On a cake, with ice cream, with whipped cream or just plain. … Continue reading

11 May 2014
by Andy
1 Comment

What is…? – Prince Regent’s Cake

There are many traditional types of food you have to try in Munich. Many are well known, just like the Weißwurst (white sausage) or the pretzel. But there are also some things nearly unknown outside of Bavaria. One of them … Continue reading

Munich Greeter

17 Februar 2015
von Andy
1 Kommentar

Was ist…? – Krapfen

Während der Faschingszeit kann man nahezu überall in Deutschland ein bestimmtes Süßgebäck finden – den Krapfen. Ja… wieder ein schwierig auszusprechendes Wort für die, die des Deutschen nicht mächtig sind. Doch je schwieriger auszusprechen, desto besser ist das was man … Weiterlesen

Brezen & Bier

11 Januar 2015
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Die Top 5 Dinge, die man in München essen sollte

München und Bayern sind nicht nur bekannt für die Alpen, die Geschichte und das Oktoberfest, sondern auch für seine kulinarischen Spezialitäten. Wenn Ihr also in München seid, solltet Ihr zumindest diese 5 Spezialitäten probieren. Ansonsten könnt Ihr nicht behaupten, in … Weiterlesen

21 Dezember 2014
von Andy
1 Kommentar

Spezialitäten aus München – hochprozentiges

Wenn Ihr nach München kommt, wollt Ihr sicher die Tradition erleben und natürlich auch die kulinarischen Highlights Bayerns probieren. Wie Ihr wisst, ist Bayern berühmt für sein Bier und herzhaftes Essen. Doch es gibt auch eine Schnaps-Kultur. Vielleicht sucht Ihr … Weiterlesen

Kugler Alm - Entrance/Eingang

16 August 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Tagesausflugsidee: Kugler Alm

Zwischen Frühjahr und Herbst mag man als Tourist bestimmt das Münchner Biergartenleben genießen. Und es gibt einige Biergärten in der Stadt. Doch auch ein paar, die ausserhalb liegen und daher nicht so stark von Touristen frequentiert werden. Also warum nicht … Weiterlesen

8 August 2014
von Andy
3 Kommentare

Mythos Weißwurst

Nichts, naja sagen wir fast nichts ist so traditionell (in kulinarischer Hinsicht) als die Münchner Weißwurst. Viele Touristen probieren sie, begehen doch oft Fehler beim verzehren. Denn kein traditionelles Essen hat wohl mehr Regeln über das korrekte verspeisen… Um endgültig … Weiterlesen

5 August 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Der „Muffin Mann“ aus München-Neuhausen

Vielleicht erinnern sich einige von Euch an unseren facebook-post eines Werbeschildes eines kleinen Neuhauser Cafés auf dem stand: „The best cheesecake in town – The next one 6.493 km, Brooklyn, NY“. Wir haben eine Menge Rückmeldungen dazu erhalten und uns … Weiterlesen

27 Juli 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Amerikanische Geschichte in München (Teil 1)

München ist eine sehr internationale Stadt. Doch auch in früheren Zeiten beeinflussten viele Einwohner, die ursprünglich aus dem AUsland kamen, die Kultur und das tägliche Leben. Auch die USA haben daran einen Anteil – vor und nach dem Krieg gab … Weiterlesen

16 Juni 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Juni – Erdbeerzeit in München – Erdbeeren selber pflücken

Im warmen Juni mag man vielleicht frische regionale Produkte genießen. In München ist es irgendwie schon Tradition während der Sommermonate Erdbeeren zu essen. Als Erdbeerkuchen, mit Eis, mit Schlagsahne oder einfach pur. In München und drum herum wachsen Erdbeeren ziemlich … Weiterlesen

11 Mai 2014
von Andy
1 Kommentar

Was ist…? – Prinzregententorte

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche traditionelle Speisen in München, die man probiert haben sollte. Viele sind weltbekannt, wie z.B. die Weißwurst oder die Breze. Aber is gibt auch Dinge, die nahezu unbekannt ausserhalb Bayerns sind. Eine davon möchten wir euch vorstellen