Munich Greeter

28 April 2015
by Insa
0 comments

A quaint alternative to the Oktoberfest: The Auer Dult

At the end of September the Oktoberfest starts. World-famous not only for the beer, but also for the masses of people and a lot of pushing. If you´re looking for something smaller, more “gemütlich” and more original, you find it … Continue reading

17 February 2015
by Andy
1 Comment

What is…? – Krapfen

During carnival (Fasching) time in Germany you’ll find a specific sweet pastry nearly everywhere. The “Krapfen”. Yeah… another hard-to-spell word. But the harder to spell the better what you get… well at least here. Read on to get to know … Continue reading

31 January 2015
by Andy
1 Comment

Strong beer season – time to train your voice

The Starkbierzeit (strong beer season) is coming fast. If you look close, you can see Munich preparing itself for this season. And you should prepare yourself too…

Brezen & Bier

11 January 2015
by Andy
0 comments

The Top 5 things to eat in Munich

Munich and Bavaria are known not only for the alps, the history or the Oktoberfest, but also for the food. So when in Munich you have to try at least 5 of them. Otherwise you can’t say you’ve been to … Continue reading

7 January 2015
by Insa
0 comments

The end of Christmas time – Epiphany day

Christmas is the time of holidays – New Year’s Eve and January 1st follow the actual Christmas Days 24./25./26.12. And in Catholic regions, there is still another holiday –Epiphany day (6th of January). Read more about why this day is … Continue reading

Stachus/Karlsplatz

31 October 2014
by Andy
2 Comments

Famous Munich citizens – Franz Xaver Krenkl

Munich is famous for its heritage, customs and of course the people living here ore those who lived here in former times. Some of them influenced Munich’s history, others were just nice fellows, sometimes a bit frakish, but always typical … Continue reading

12 October 2014
by Andy
0 comments

What is…? – a Wolpertinger

Maybe you don’t know it, but Bavaria and especially the alps region is home of specific animal. The Bavarians call it “Wolpertinger”. This animal is extremely shy and therefore hard to catch. Read on to learn about this “only in … Continue reading

28 September 2014
by Andy
0 comments

Respect culture and customs

As a tourist in Munich or Bavaria, especially when you’re not from Germany, Austria or Switzerland, you will see and feel a different culture and many different customs compared to your culture. We Munich Greeters meet people from all over … Continue reading

8 August 2014
by Andy
1 Comment

myth white sausage

Nothing, well… nearly nothing is more traditional (from a culinary sight) as the Munich Weißwurst (white sausage) (spoken: wise-wuasht) . Many tourists try it, but they eat it the wrong way (which is quite funny for a citizen to see). … Continue reading

Munich Greeter

28 April 2015
von Insa
Keine Kommentare

Urige Alternative zum Oktoberfest: Die Auer Dult

Ende September startet die Wiesn. Weltbekannt nicht nur für das Bier, sondern auch für das Gedränge. Wer es eine Nummer kleiner, gemütlicher und „Münchnerischer“ mag, hat mit der Auer Dult eine echte Alternative – und das dreimal im Jahr: Maidult … Weiterlesen

17 Februar 2015
von Andy
1 Kommentar

Was ist…? – Krapfen

Während der Faschingszeit kann man nahezu überall in Deutschland ein bestimmtes Süßgebäck finden – den Krapfen. Ja… wieder ein schwierig auszusprechendes Wort für die, die des Deutschen nicht mächtig sind. Doch je schwieriger auszusprechen, desto besser ist das was man … Weiterlesen

31 Januar 2015
von Andy
1 Kommentar

Starkbierzeit – Zeit die Stimme zu trainieren

Die Starkbierzeit naht mit großen Schritten. Wenn man genau hinsieht, merkt man wie sich München darauf vorbereitet. Und auch Ihr solltet Euch entsprechend vorbereiten…

Brezen & Bier

11 Januar 2015
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Die Top 5 Dinge, die man in München essen sollte

München und Bayern sind nicht nur bekannt für die Alpen, die Geschichte und das Oktoberfest, sondern auch für seine kulinarischen Spezialitäten. Wenn Ihr also in München seid, solltet Ihr zumindest diese 5 Spezialitäten probieren. Ansonsten könnt Ihr nicht behaupten, in … Weiterlesen

7 Januar 2015
von Insa
Keine Kommentare

Das Ende der Weihnachtszeit – der Dreikönigstag

Weihnachten ist die Zeit der Feiertage – auf die eigentlichen Weihnachtsfeiertage 24./25./26.12. folgen Silvester und Neujahr. Und in katholischen Regionen, so auch in Bayern, gibt es noch einen weiteren Ferientag – den Dreikönigstag am 6. Januar. Warum dieser Tag ein … Weiterlesen

Stachus/Karlsplatz

31 Oktober 2014
von Andy
2 Kommentare

Berühmte Münchner – Franz Xaver Krenkl

München ist berühmt für seine Tradition, seine Bräuche und natürlich für seine Menschen, die hier leben oder lebten. Einige von ihnen beeinflussten die Geschichte der Stadt, andere waren einfach nette Zeitgenossen, teils sonderbar, aber immer typisch münchnerisch. Lest weiter um … Weiterlesen

12 Oktober 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Was ist…? – ein Wolpertinger

Vielleicht wisst Ihr es nicht, aber Bayern – vor allem die Alpenregion – ist die Heimat eines speziellen Tieres. Die Bayern nennen diese Tierart „Wolpertinger“. Diese Art ist extrem scheu und kann deshalb nur sehr schwer gefangen werden. Lest weiter, … Weiterlesen

28 September 2014
von Andy
Keine Kommentare

Respektiere Kultur und Brauchtum

Als Tourist in München oder Bayern wird man eine andere Kultur und andere Bräuche kennenlernen, die – insbesondere wenn man nicht aus Deutschland, Österreich oder der Schweiz kommt – völlig anders als seine eigene Kultur ist. Wir Munich Greeters treffen … Weiterlesen

8 August 2014
von Andy
2 Kommentare

Mythos Weißwurst

Nichts, naja sagen wir fast nichts ist so traditionell (in kulinarischer Hinsicht) als die Münchner Weißwurst. Viele Touristen probieren sie, begehen doch oft Fehler beim verzehren. Denn kein traditionelles Essen hat wohl mehr Regeln über das korrekte verspeisen… Um endgültig … Weiterlesen